Sweet Avocados

Mmm avocados. So yummy and versatile. I could eat them for every meal.

20130924-121331.jpg

The past two weeks, I’ve been M.I.A. due to midterms and our travel break. But before that, my friend Karla and I got together to make some avocado banana smoothies. And oh my gosh it took everything in me not to gulp them down immediately. After a day of class and studying at the Royal Library, we walked back home, hungry and exhausted. It was so yummy and creamy, but it wasn’t overly sweet or heavy. This smoothie is just so wonderful for any time of the year. I could definitely see have it as a refreshing summer treat, or a filling (but healthy) winter dessert. It just gives me an excuse to consume avocados every day for forever.

IMG_1078

Β My friends Jaimie, Emma, and I decided to go bikesploring one day throughout our neighborhood, Amager. We found new apartment complexes and interesting architecture, as well as a park with biking trails and horse-back riding. We got lost on our bikes and just wandered around the city for an hour, until we found our way back to the kollegium. Now that I’m reaching the half way point of my semester abroad, I’ve realized that there’s still so much more to explore in the city.

20130924-121311.jpg

The more time I spend here, the more I appreciate eating fresh food and spending time in the sunlight before winter comes. Avocados have become my favorite food as I try more and more recipes. First we made the milkshake, and then we decided to attempt an eggocado. And now, I’ve made avocado pasta and I’m hoping to make an avocado pie. Each day I find more around the city to discover, and more in the kitchen to create.

Recipe for Avocado Banana Smoothies:

Ingredients:

1 avocado

10 ounces of spinach (but if you want to be technical like us, just take two huge handfuls and toss them in)

1/2 cup milk

1 banana

1 tbsp agave syrup

Just throw it all in the blender and pulse until it’s nice and creamy. Taste as you go, and customize the ingredients! Garnish with spinach to look real fancy. Serves two. Or one, if you’re ambitious.

One thought on “Sweet Avocados

  1. I see a lot of interesting content here, i know writing posts requires a lot of time, but i know unlimited source of content for your blog ,
    just search in google – rewriter creates an unique article in a minute

Leave a Reply

