Roman Holiday (Plus Oktoberfest!)

After my weekend in Paris, I moved on to Rome to see my best friend, Giulietta. Before this trip, I had only been to Italy once during the summer after 10th grade. But these three days made me fall in love with it. I was able to talk to people and get by in the city with my broken Italian. Attempting, and sometimes succeeding, to communicate through a foreign languageΒ  is something that I haven’t been able to attempt this semester (since I don’t know Danish at all). And OH MY WOW THE FOOD. I stuffed myself with pasta and gelato for 3 days straight. Even when I wasn’t hungry, I just kept eating because I knew I would miss it when I left.Β  I realized that Rome is the complete opposite of Copenhagen. The weather is sunny, instead of dark and cold. In fact, as I’m writing this, Denmark is having it’s worst storm in 10 years, with winds expected up to 70 mph. The people are much more talkative, and not as reserved as Danes.

Going to Rome was a bit jarring at first (especially while riding a crowded bus), but I felt right at home there. The culture just seemed so natural, and I’m totally into eating Italian food every day of my life. I loved it so much that I’m trying to find a wayΒ  to study there over the summer, or find a job in Italy after graduation. My three days in Rome had me wishing that I could stay longer.

And then I went to Munich for Oktoberfest. That Saturday, I woke up bright and early and met up with my friend Taylor and her friends from college. We made it to Oktoberfest at 7 A.M., and waited until 9 for the tents to open. We stayed until 3 pm, and then decided to take a power nap and come back at 7. Although I had fun in the morning, nighttime Oktoberfest was honestly my favorite. We sat at some tables outside, and met some Australians and other Americans before heading inside. To get in, half our group paid 10 euro for a sandwich, but by the time we got to the front of the line, they ran out of sandwiches. We though we were stuck, but then all of a sudden some mysterious barmaid came up to our group and took us inside for free (for a small tip, of course). It was so random, but everything worked out perfectly. I loved that we saw so many different people from different countries, all in one place for a common experience. That’s what made Oktoberfest incredible for me.

The next morning, I left for Copenhagen. Despite my love for Rome, and the fun I had with friends at Oktoberfest, I felt myself missing Copenhagen like nobody’s business. I love the cold, dark weather and the reserved people. I love the hygge and the Scandinavian diet of meat and potatoes. As my train pulled into KΓΈbenhavn H after 10 long days of travel, I felt relieved to finally be home.

Leave a Reply

