National Donut Day

IMG_1778

1.5 years later, I’m back! I was so determined to continue this blog while I was in college, but I either never had the resources (i.e. a kitchen) or the motivation. Now, in my post-grad slump, I am totally ready to start making desserts again. I recently visited my friend in Montreal, and her roommate had this book. I instantly got book envy, and upon returning back home I ordered it from Amazon. I’m excited to read up on how food has developed through different cultures.

IMG_1761

So the main points of my life right now:

–  I graduated! And yes, I did cry, because senior year was one of the best years of my life.

– I have a job! I will be moving to Washington, DC this August.

– I am still traveling! As I said, I went to Montreal early this summer. I’m also leaving for India on Saturday, and I’m hoping to make a trip to the west coast this July.

IMG_1765

Anyways, I obviously had to celebrate National Donut Day because food is my life. I made a batch of 6 Cinnamon Donuts with Brown Butter Glaze, courtesy of Buns in My Oven and then Red Velvet Donuts with Cream Cheese Glaze, from Homemade Hooplah.

IMG_1768

For some reason, I had a lot of trouble with the cinnamon donuts and the cream cheese glaze. Your donut batter should be almost as thin as cake batter, without any lumps. My cinnamon donuts ended up a little drier, but it’s totally possible I accidentally missed a liquid ingredient. Next time I make them, I’ll add in a little more buttermilk or canola oil. With the cream cheese glaze, I would suggest starting off with a little more cream cheese. It tasted a little too confectioner’s sugar-sweet too me. But WOW the red velvet donuts were so moist (even though I hate that word) and delicious, I would absolutely make them again.

I have been completely unreliable, but I promise that I will continue these regular postings! Look forward to pictures of my trip to India! And once I get settled in this fall, I’m hoping to restart the Street Style posts.

Leave a Reply

